ITEM NO.8 Court 1 (Video Conferencing) SECTION X

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA **RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS**

Writ Petition(s)(Civil) No(s). 643/2015

ALL INDIA JUDGES ASSOCIATION

Petitioner(s)

VERSUS

UNION OF INDIA . & ORS.

Respondent(s) (SHRI P.S. NARASIMHA, SENIOR ADVOCATE AND SHRI K. PARAMESHWAR, ADVOCATE AS AMICUS CURIAE

(IA No. 70316/2020 - APPLICATION FOR PERMISSION IA No. 96520/2020 -APPLICATION FOR PERMISSION IA No. 68479/2020 - APPLICATION FOR PERMISSION IA No. 100172/2020 - CLARIFICATION/DIRECTION IA No. 68481/2020 CLARIFICATION/DIRECTION _ IA No. 88733/2020 CLARIFICATION/DIRECTION IA No. 70323/2020 - CLARIFICATION/DIRECTION 50728/2020 -EXEMPTION FROM FILING AFFIDAVIT IA NO. IA No. 84452/2020 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING AFFIDAVIT IA No. 50727/2020 -EXTENSION OF TIME IA No. 125439/2018 - INTERVENTION APPLICATION IA NO. 100166/2020 - INTERVENTION APPLICATION IA NO. 68480/2020 -INTERVENTION APPLICATION IA No. 87335/2020 -INTERVENTION APPLICATION IA No. 70318/2020 - INTERVENTION APPLICATION IA No. INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT IA 165066/2019 _ No. 18284/2020 INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT IA No. 169826/2019 INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT IA No. 1/2015 -PERMISSION TO FILE SYNOPSIS AND LIST OF DATES)

Date : 04-11-2020 These matters were called on for hearing today.

CORAM :

HON'BLE THE CHIEF JUSTICE HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE A.S. BOPANNA HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE V. RAMASUBRAMANIAN

Mr. P.S. Narasimha, Sr.Adv.(AC)

- Mr. K. Parameshwar, Adv. (AC)
- Mr. M.V. Mukunda, Adv.
- Mr. Kanti, Adv.
- Shri Gourab Banerji, Sr.Adv. For Petitioner(s) Mr. Vyom Raghuvanshi, Adv. Ms. Mayuri Raghuvanshi, AOR Mr. Subhro Prokas Mukherjee, Adv. For Respondent(s) Mr. K.M. Natraj,ASG Ms. V. Mohna, Sr.Adv.
 - Ms. Rashmi Malhotra, Adv.
 - Mr. D.L. Chidanand, Adv.
 - Mr. Mohd. Akhil, Adv.

Mr. K.M.Nataraj, LD ASG Mr. SWA Qadri , Adv. Ms. Sunita Sharma, Adv. Mr. R.R.Rajesh, Adv. Mr. Mohd. Akhil, Adv. Mr. Raj Bahadur Yadav, Adv. Mr. K.M. Natraj,ASG Mr. Rajan Kr. Chourasia, Adv. Mr. Mohd. Akhil, Adv. Mr. D.L. Chidanand, Adv. Ms. Swarupma Chaturvedi, Adv. Mr. Arvind Kumar Sharma, AOR Mr. V. Giri, Sr.Adv. Ms. Divya Sharma, Adv. Mr. Gopal Jha, AOR Mr. Mukesh Kumar Maroria, AOR Ms. Preetika Dwivedi, AOR Mr. Sudhanshu S. Choudhari, AOR Mr. Sachin Patil, Adv. Mr. Rahul Chitnis, Adv. Mr. Geo Joseph, Adv. Dr. Manish Singhvi, Senior Advocate Mr. Sandeep Kumar Jha, AOR Mr. Aniruddha P. Mayee, AOR Mr. Amit Kumar, Adv. Gen. Mr. Avijit Mani Tripathi, Adv. Mr. Shaurya Sahay, Adv. Mr. Jaideep Gupta, Sr.Adv. Mr. Kunal Chatterji, AOR Ms. Maitrayee Banerjee, Adv. Mr. Pravar Veer Misra, Adv. Mr. Apoorv Kurup, AOR Ms. Madhumita Bhattacharjee AOR Mr. Annam D. N. Rao, AOR Mr. Annam Venkatesh, Adv. Mr. Rahul Mishra, Adv.

Mr. P. I. Jose, AOR

Mr. Prashant Kumar Sharma, Adv. Ms. Sneha Kalita, AOR Dr. Rajesh Pandey, Adv. Ms. Aswathi M.K.AOR Mr. Naresh K. Sharma, AOR Mr. Sanjai Kumar Pathak, AOR Mr. N. Kumarjit Singh, AG Mr. Pukhrambam Ramesh Kumar, Adv Ms. Anupama Ng, Adv. Mr. karun Sharma, Adv Mr. Nikhil Goel, AOR Ms. Pragati Neekhra, AOR Mr. Anupam Raina, AOR Mr. Krishnanand Pandeya, AOR Mr. T. G. Narayanan Nair, AOR Mr. A. Radhakrishnan, AOR Mr. Arjun Garg, AOR Mr. Sibo Sankar Mishra, AOR Mr. Atul Nanda, Sr.Adv. Ms. Ranjeeta Rohatgi, AOR Ms. Samten Doma, Adv. Mr. Ashok Mathur, AOR Mr. Mukul Kumar, AOR Ms. Aruna Mathur, Advocate on Record Ms. Anuradha Arputham, Advocate M/S. Arputham Aruna And Co, AOR Mr. Apoorv Kurup, AOR Mr. A.C. Boixpatro, Adv. Ms. Nidhi Mittal, Adv. Mr. Mukesh K. Giri, AOR Ms. Priyanka Prakash, Adv. Ms. Beena Praksh, Adv.

Mr. G. Prakash, AOR Mr. Mahfooz A.Nazki, AOR Mr. Polanki Gowtham, Adv. Mr. Amitabh Sinha, Adv. Mr. Shrey Sharma, Adv. Mr. Shuvodeep Roy, AOR Mr. Kabir Shankar Bose, Adv. Mr. Rahul Raj Mishra,Adv. Mr. Anil Shrivastav, Adv. Mr. Manish Kumar, AOR Mr. Harsh Chaudhary, Adv. Ms. Aswathi M.k., AOR M/S. K J John And Co, AOR Ms. Deepanwita Priyanka, AOR Mr. Ashok Sharma, Adv.Gen Mr. Vikas Mahajan,AAG Mr. Vinod Sharma, AOR Mr. Binod Kumar Singh, Adv. Mr. Aakash Varma, Adv. Mr. Anando Mukherjee, AOR Mr. V. N. Raghupathy, AOR Mr. Purushainder Kaurav, Adv.Gen.(MP) Mr. Saurabh Mishra, AAG Mr. Sunny Choudhary, AOR Mr. Shivam, Adv. Mr. Nishant Ramakantrao Katneshwarkar, AOR Mr. Ranjan Mukherjee, AOR Mr. Siddhesh Kotwal, Adv. Ms. Arshiya Ghose, Adv. Mr. Divyansh Tiwari, Adv. Ms. Ana Upadhyay, Adv. Ms. Mantika Haryani, Adv. Ms. Astha Sharma, AOR Mr. Balgopal, Sr.Adv. Mr. Nitya Nambiar, Adv. Mr. A.P. Mukund, Adv. Mr. Ishan Sharma, Adv.

Ms. K. Enatoli Sema, AOR Mr. Amit Kumar Singh, Adv. Mr. Shibashish Misra, AOR Mr. Devendra Singh, AOR Ms. Ruchi Kohli, AOR Mr. Raghvendra Kumar, Adv. Mr. Anand Kumar Dubey, Adv. Mr. Narendra Kumar, AOR Mr. Balaji Srinivasan, AAG Mr. M. Yogesh Kanna, AOR Mr. Raja Rajeshwaran S., Adv. Mr. Raghvendra Singh, Adv. Gen. Mr. Sanjay Kumar Tyagi, AOR Ms. Rachana Srivastava, AOR Mr. Tanmay Agarwal, Adv. Mr. Parijat Sinha, AOR Mr. K.V. Jagdishvaran, Adv. Ms. G. Indira, AOR Mr. Chirag M. Shroff, AOR Ms. Abhilasha Bharti, Adv. Mrs. Anil Katiyar, AOR Mr. V. G. Pragasam, AOR Mr. S. Prabu Ramasubramanian, Adv. Mr. P.H. Parekh, Sr.Adv. Mr. Sameer Parekh, Adv. Mr. Kshatrashal Raj,Adv. Ms. Tanya Chaudhry, ADv. Ms. Pratyusha Priyadarshini, Adv. Ms. Nitika Pandey, Adv. M/S. Parekh & Co., AOR Mr. Uday B. Dube, AOR Mrs. Anjani Aiyagari, AOR Mr. Ankur Kashyap, AOR Mr. Abhay Singh, Adv.

UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

We are surprised that 18 States/UTs have not filed their responses. The said States/UTs are as follows :

(1) Kerala, (2) Andhra Pradesh, (3) Telangana, (4)Maharashtra, (5) Jharkhand, (6) Odisha, (7) West Bengal, (8) Assam, (9) Rajasthan, (10) Punjab, (11) Jammu & Kashmir, (12) Ladakh, (13) Delhi, (14) Haryana, (15) Nagaland, (16) Manipur, (17) Sikkim, and (18) Goa.

The matter is of seminal importance particularly for the subordinate judiciary in the country.

Mr. P.S. Narsimha, learned Amicus Curiae, has submitted that it would not be advisable to proceed with the matter without the responses of the States/UTs. But at the same time, the matter cannot be postponed indefinitely for want of responses from the States/UTs.

Therefore, in the interests of justice, we direct that the matter be listed after a period of six weeks from today.

The States/UTs who have not filed their responses shall file their responses within a period of five weeks from today. Should any State/UT fail to do so, the Chief Secretary/Administrator of that State/UT shall remain present in person before this Court on the next notified date.

The learned Amicus Curiae, has filed a note, seeking certain directions in the meantime. The said note is taken on record. Taking into consideration what is stated therein, we direct that

6

the term of the Commission shall be extended upto 31.01.2021. In the meantime, the amount meant for making payment towards remuneration to the Experts and Consultants and the honoraria payable to the members of the Commission i.e. Hon'ble Mr. Justice (Retd.) P.V. Reddy and Hon'ble Mr. Justice (Retd.) R. Basant; shall be sanctioned and released.

The term of the deputation of the Member Secretary which is due to end on 31.12.2020 shall be extended upto 31.01.2021 so that he may attend the duties of the Commission.

Ordered accordingly.

Issue notice to the learned Attorney General for India.

List the matter on 05.01.2021.

(SANJAY KUMAR-II)(MADHU BALA)(INDU KUMARI POKHRIYAL)Asst.Registrar-Cum-PSAR-CUM-PSASSISTANT REGISTRAR